Augmented Reality helps surgeons and engineers.

Before certain operations, three-dimensional sectional images (e.g., computer tomography, magnetic resonance tomography) are produced in order to plan them exactly. In the future, surgeons will be supported by an augmented reality solution developed in the VizARd project. This image data can then be visualized in an intuitive and user-friendly manner directly on the patient‘s skin at the site of the incision.

Soft tissue and position recognition as a challenge

The challenge: Although there are many valid data on humans and their “inner life,” humans are anything but a rigid “object” – the position of skin surface, soft tissue and organs changes with the body position. In order to tackle these research challenges, the project partner uses technologies that have been developed in recent years for assistance systems, such as image-based position recognition based on deep learning technologies. What previously served the digitalization of the human being, his tools and his workpieces in the assembly hall is now being transferred to the human being in the operating theater.

Another central aspect is the deformation of soft tissue, which must be taken into account when visualizing image data. The Medical Informatics Research Department of RISC Software GmbH in Hagenberg has already gained experience in biomechanical modeling in the medical field through previous projects. The visualization of medical images directly on the 3D patient – in contrast to a 2D screen – forms the basis for trend-setting research projects and the improvement of existing applications in the medical field.

Cooperation with MedUni Graz

The medical project partner is MedUni Graz with the Clinical Department of Plastic, Aesthetic and Reconstructive Surgery and the University Hospital of Radiology, which are involved in the practical implementation and provide the application scenarios.

User-friendliness: A topic for surgeons

Another challenge is usability. The digital agency Netural is responsible for the design of the software’s user interface. The company has been conducting intensive research in the field of e-health and medical technology for many years. Especially the user-friendly application of mixed-reality applications is in the focus of the developments.

Augmented Reality hilft ChirurgInnen und IngenieurInnen.

Vor bestimmten Operationen werden dreidimensionale Schnittbilder (z.B. Computertomografie, Magnetresonanztomografie) angefertigt, um diese exakt zu planen. Chirurginnen und Chirurgen sollen künftig durch eine im Projekt VizARd entwickelte Augmented-Reality-Lösung unterstützt werden. Diese Bilddaten können dann intuitiv und benutzerfreundlich direkt auf der Haut der Patientin oder des Patienten am Ort des Einschnittes visualisiert werden.

Weichteilgewebe und Lageerkennung als Herausforderung

Die Herausforderung: Es gibt zwar viele und valide Daten vom Menschen und seinem „Innenleben“, allerdings ist der Mensch alles andere als ein starres „Objekt“ – die Lage von Hautoberfläche, Weichteilgewebe und den Organen verändert sich mit der Körperposition. Um diese forschungstechnischen Herausforderungen anzugehen, greift der Projektpartner auf Technologien zurück, die in den letzten Jahren für Assistenzsysteme entwickelt wurden, wie z.B. die bildbasierte Lage­erkennung auf Basis von Deep-Learning-Technologien. Was bislang der Digitalisierung des Menschen, seines Werkzeugs und seiner Werkstücke in der Montagehalle gedient hat, wird nun auf den Menschen im Ope­rationssaal übertragen.

Ein weiterer zentraler Aspekt ist die Verformung von Weichteilgewebe, die bei der Visualisierung von Bilddaten berücksichtigt werden muss. Die Forschungsabteilung Medizin-Informatik der RISC Software GmbH aus Hagenberg hat bereits durch vorangegangene Projekte Erfahrung in der biomechanischen Modellierung im Medizinbereich. Die Visuali­sierung von medizinischen Bildern direkt am 3D-Patienten – im Gegensatz zu einem 2D-Bildschirm – bildet die Grundlage für richtungsweisende Forschungsprojekte und Verbesserung bestehender Anwendungen im medizinischen Bereich.
88 % erzielt werden.

Zusammenarbeit mit MedUni Graz

Der medizinische Projektpartner ist die MedUni Graz mit der klinischen Abteilung für Plastische, Ästhetische und Rekonstruktive Chirurgie und der Universitätsklinik für Radiologie, die an der praktischen Implementierung mitwirken und die Anwendungsszenarien bereitstellen.

Benutzerfreundlichkeit: für Chirurgen ein Thema

Eine andere Herausforderung ist die Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Für die Gestaltung der Nutzeroberfläche der Software ist die Digitalagentur Netural verantwortlich. Das Unternehmen forscht seit Jahren intensiv im Bereich E-Health und medizinischer Technik. Besonders die benutzerfreundliche Anwendung von Mixed-Reaity-Anwendungen steht im Fokus der Entwicklungen.