Arc detection in DC network-oriented identification by means of compressed sensing and machine learning.

Since they are direct current (DC) systems, photovoltaic installations carry the risk of electrical arcing due to poor connections. Such poor connections arise due to a variety of reasons such as faulty or aging connectors, human error, and environmental influences. Electrical arcing in a photovoltaic system can result in a reduction of output energy. More seriously, arcing can cause fire, which may in turn result in property damage and/or serious injuries.

Existing safety devices to combat electrical arcing are often optimized for specific applications, and suffer from a high rate of false detection that result in needless and costly system shutdowns. The aim of FlashCheck is to provide a general solution to detection of electrical arcing in photovoltaic systems while avoiding false detection. In order to accomplish this, a database of electrical arc signatures will be collected using compressed sensing, with the aim of deploying machine learning techniques to characterize arcs to enable future detection.

The RISC Software GmbH is involved in the development and deployment of compressed sensing techniques to reconstruct high-frequency samples with a low sampling rate.

FlashCheck is a cooperative research and development project supported by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG). The project is headed by Fronius International GmbH, with project partners FH Oberösterreich Forschungs und Entwicklungs GmbH, RISC Software GmbH, and Eaton Industries
(Austria) GmbH.

Diesen Beitrag mit Ihrem Netzwerk teilen:

Lichtbogendetektion in DCNetzen- regelungsorientierte Identifikation mittels Compressed Sensing und Machine Learning.

Da es sich bei Photovoltaikanlagen um Gleichstromsysteme handelt, besteht die Gefahr von Lichtbögen aufgrund schlechter Stromanschlüsse. Diese sind auf eine Vielzahl von Gründen zurückzuführen, wie beispielsweise fehlerhafte oder gealterte Stecker, menschliche Fehler und Umwelteinflüsse. Elektrische Lichtbogenbildung in einer Photovoltaikanlage kann zu einer Verringerung der Ausgangsenergie führen. Im Ernstfall können Lichtbögen einen Brand verursachen, der zu Sachschäden oder schweren Verletzungen führen kann.

Existierende Sicherheitseinrichtungen zur Bekämpfung von Lichtbögen sind oft für spezielle Anwendungen optimiert und führen zu einer hohen Rate an Falsch­erkennung, die zu unnötigen und kostspieligen System­abschaltungen führt.

Ziel des Projektes FlashCheck ist es, eine allgemeine Lösung für die Erkennung von Lichtbogenbildung in Photovoltaikanlagen mit möglichst niedriger Fehlerrate zu entwickeln. Um dies zu erreichen wird mittels „Compressed Sensing“-Methoden eine Datenbank von Lichtbogensignaturen aufgebaut die als Grundlage die Erkennung mittels „Machine Learning“-Technologie dient. Die RISC Software GmbH ist an der Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Compressed Sensing Methoden beteiligt um hochaufgelöste Signale mit niedriger Ab­tast­rate zu rekonstruieren.

FlashCheck ist ein kooperatives Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt, das von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) unterstützt wird. Das Projekt wird von der Fronius International GmbH mit den Projektpartnern FH Oberösterreich Forschung und Entwicklung GmbH, RISC Software GmbH und Eaton Industries (Austria) GmbH umgesetzt.

Diesen Beitrag mit Ihrem Netzwerk teilen: